Commute

February 19, 2012 § Leave a comment

Image

Every morning I simultaneously develop and conquer my fear of escalators. I imagine so many scenarios that involve losing my balance with a misstep and tumbling down, knocking into the unfortunate people in front of or behind me as my body goes careening into them like a purple and pink bowling ball into unsuspecting pins. It would be the only time I would be able to get a strike, strike, strike, TURKEY! I am only able to conquer my daily re-awaken fear of escalators and speed walk up and down escalators because I have an even bigger fear of missing my connecting train or bus. Which sounds understandable and innocuous enough, until I add that I am frequently running after a bus that is parked and waiting. The bus drivers frequently give me a bored look with a slightly raised eyebrow as if to say, “…You know, I’m not moving for a while, right?” as other commuters leisurely stroll on board.

It’s okay, though. Throw in a couple daily real life¬†reenactments of Frogger as I run across busy roads– too impatient to wait for the red-orange hand sign to change– and this is my urban workout.

Image

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Commute at Origamidumpling.

meta