Riding a Bicycle

September 1, 2011 § Leave a comment

Dear “It’s just like riding a bicycle”,

Boy oh boy do I hope that people aren’t lying about you. And if those people earnestly believe that your skill is the easiest to learn and retain, I really hope they aren’t underestimating your ability to be difficult. Because have you met “Easy as pie”? Have you tried making a pie crust? From scratch? With butter and lard? Not easy. I haven’t ridden a bike since I lived in Montana. It feels so long ago that I sometimes wonder if I’m making up that fact because my living there sounds a little random and my life feels so different now.

I’m really counting on you this weekend. We’re going to the Poconos and going bike riding. Sure, it’s mostly downhill, but that’s slightly scarier because the last time I was riding a bike, in order to use the brakes, I had to back-pedal. What the hell are handbrakes?

Please don’t help me get a Darwin Award.

Love,

Jenny

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Riding a Bicycle at Origamidumpling.

meta