Update, kind of

August 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

When Wayne went up to New Hampshire for business a couple weeks ago, I honestly thought I would be writing lots of entries, one after right after the other, because when left alone, all I have are my thoughts. And they are quite loud and verbose– that isn’t to say that they are intelligent or meaningful or interesting, but those verbs aren’t really requirements for my entries anyway– and demand attention from me. Usually, they’re all like little Jeffs from “Coupling”. Ridiculous and hard to ignore.

But then I discovered “Modern Family”*, and my thoughts and I were completely enamored with Cameron, Mitchell, and Lily** and the rest of the family. And we were quiet.

So, an update of sorts:
1. I’ve accidentally been gifted Wayne’s nook. I’m not sure how to feel. I feel like I’ve joined the dark side. I’m wondering if this is how Anakin felt. Or if he was a bit more torn up? I’m not trying to belittle his transformation; it’s just that big of a deal for me to have an e-reader. I’m actually reading more (real, paper-flipping books) as a way to compensate for having a nook, in addition to reading on the nook. Meanwhile, my inner Captain Jean-Luc Picard is offering me earl grey tea and trying to convince me that I really should give Dickens a try while I’m a little frustrated and telling him, “Can’t I just drink some green tea and read Murakami, and we call it a day? I’m exhausted from my internal war”.

2. Honestly, my receiving a nook is my biggest news in the past month. Oh! And the fact that I didn’t kill my brother’s hamster while he was in my care when my parents and brother went to China. Sadly, that is a big accomplishment for me. His name is…Well, he has a whole bunch of names because no one really agreed with my brother’s choice for a name for the hamster, which is “Him”, so we all gave him a name. Wayne and I call him, “Hammy”. My mom calls him, “The little tiny one”. And my dad hasn’t named the hamster because he is too busy telling us he doesn’t like animals while spoiling the hamster by giving him globs of honey with a chopstick.

* I know I’m super late to the game with this, but I have a rule that I can’t watch any show that I have any interest in until it’s done the first season, a second season has been ordered, and there are no rumors of cancellation. I can’t deal with any more heartache after the cancellations of Firefly, Dollhouse, and Pushing Daisies.
** Seriously, Lily is the most adorable, well-mannered little girl in the world on the show. It makes me not want to have kids because I know my little girl will be no where as sweet or well-behaved. I know this because I am an ass. And the apple probably won’t fall far from the tree***.
*** What is with me and all these silly cliche sayings today?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Update, kind of at Origamidumpling.

meta