Photo Diary: Weekend exploring at home

July 17, 2011 § Leave a comment

It hasn’t felt like Wayne and I have been home for the weekend in a long time so I was thrilled that this past weekend was completely dedicated to staying close to home and exploring the area– I think it is amusing that the “area” is comprised of two states, Virginia and Maryland, and the District.

Even though we stayed close to home, exploring ended up requiring a bit of driving to all the different places. Luckily, we had our little Shiba Inu key cap that we picked up at in LA to keep us on company in the car. I love his eye brows!

We spent some time in Bethesda on Friday night because Wynee told me about how she found a Japanese restaurant called Satsuma and they had some delicious tasting ramen that I had to try. I was really excited to visit because one of my favorite foods is tonkotsu ramen, which I’ve only had from Daikokuya in LA– I’m extremely loyal to foods I love. After four years of craving it, even skipping classes just to eat it during the non-rush hours, and having it readily available, it was  heart breaking to know that I wouldn’t be able to eat it on a weekly basis(…okay sometimes bi- and tri-weekly basis…and, since we’re being honest here, there were times when I ate it twice in one day for lunch and then late dinner) when I moved to the East coast. Using Daikokuya’s ramen as the standard of measurement, I thought the broth at Satsuma’s was rich with good flavor and also enjoyed the soft and chewy ramen noodles. The bamboo shoots were a little tough and should have been cooked for a longer period of time. I liked the egg a lot but I was confused that I was given only half an egg since I’m used to a full egg. I was extremely disappointed in the pork slices since they were very small, thin, lean and were not tender nor delicately about to fall apart since they lacked the fattiness that I loved. But that is just personal preference as I know that some people don’t like fatty meats. I want to point out that Satsuma charges double the price for a bowl of ramen that costs only around $6 at Daikokuya. And that the service was annoyingly slow…to the point that I walked up to our waitress to ask for the check and then walked up again to give her my credit card. However, while I appreciate good service and over-tip for it, slow service does not stop me from coming back if I want the food. Even though Satsuma’s ramen pales in comparison to Daikokuya’s ramen, I still want to return because I really enjoyed the broth and the noodles and it is relatively close to our home. It should hold me over until I go back to LA and I can get my Daikokuya fix.

After dinner, Wayne and I walked around downtown Bethseda and I was able to pick up a small box of macarons!

Wayne and I head up to Baltimore on Saturday for crabs at Obrycki’s. Wayne went there once with his friends and loved it. He’s always wanted to take me there, and once we found out that Obrycki’s was going to shut down after this season, we knew we had to go! The most unusual thing about Obrycki’s is that it is a Baltimore crab house that does not use Old Bay; instead they put salt and pepper on their crabs.

After Obrycki’s, we walked around Hampden and I found a vintage clothing and knick-knacks store after my own heart.

We finished off the weekend at the National Zoo. I think the highlight of the adventure was discovering the existence of this little creature: the elephant shrew. He looked so comical with his tiny, quivering elephant-like trunk and his long, long antelope-like legs that I instantly fell in love. He looked like he was constantly walking on his tip toes! I think he is so adorable!

* Things not pictured: yet another trip to Pitango (this was purposeful as I was starting to feel foolish about documenting every trip there since I know that my addiction is going to get ridiculous), Sunday morning matinée of Harry Potter 7 Part 2 (I didn’t want to be that person taking pictures of the screen in a dark theater, and apparently the idea of taking a picture of anything else relating to seeing the movie didn’t occur to me), post-zoo snack at Hot and Juicy Crawfish (I made mental note to take a picture but didn’t remember the note until we were completely done and paying the bill)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Photo Diary: Weekend exploring at home at Origamidumpling.

meta