Growing up and taking care of my shoes

June 29, 2011 § 2 Comments

It use to be that I just loved the sound of the word “cobble” and sometimes repeated it a couple times just to hear the delightful thunk of the B’s being a bit too enthusiastic and running into each other while bumping into the L, but now the word has taken on a practical meaning. And I’m not just talking fruit pies—though, that is the second reason why I love the word “cobble” since I adore cobblers, both making and eating, not always in that order. No, this is even more practical and represents my small step further into adulthood.

I’ve found a cobbler! And he takes credit card!

When I lived in LA, I wore flipflops all the time, even during winter, which definitely was cold even by East Coast standards, but at least it didn’t snow. I didn’t really bother with the designer flipflops like Rainbows or Havaianas and just bought Old Navy, because I knew that, regardless of the price and name, I would wear out the flipflops in the same amount of time. At least with Old Navy, I could get several pairs of various colored flipflops for under $10. Most of LA is a grimey, mess—and those parts I still dearly love, of course, but a hot mess is a hot mess—so all the bright, beautiful designs on the flipflops would eventually become grey and then black, with no amount of soap, detergent, or scrubbing able to make the flip flops look new again. The heels I wore back then were thrown away or donated once I had worn them out since the original costs of the heels were much less than the cost of having to re-sole. And I wasn’t a big fan of my heels because most were uncomfortable – I was really bad at picking out shoes back then—so I wasn’t too bothered that I couldn’t extend their lives with me.

A couple days ago, I read an entry by Ahn over at 9to5chic about how she protects and cares for her heels so she can happily wear them over and over for years and years– like the ending of a fairy tale, Disney, not the Grimms’ brothers; that was my shoes’ reality before I read her entry—and how useful and important is a good cobbler. I was inspired! …Which is kind of funny to say since I was basically inspired to be a good adult and take care of my things. I wanted to find a good cobbler and have him put half rubber soles on all my heels and be mindful of replacing the heel tips. I suddenly realized how many pairs of heels I have bought and barely worn because of fear over wearing out the heels and the damages I would do to the sole. And, unlike before, every pair of shoes I’ve bought post-college are been shoes I adore (and are insanely comfortable, especially considering their height).

I found a cobbler, Tailor and Shoe Shoppe. Even though he only has nine reviews, which, unfortunately, is a good amount considering the area, all nine are extremely positive. I dropped off a pair of heels to have half rubber soles put on them and a pair of flats that have to be completely re-soled because I loved them too much. He charges $25 for the half rubber soles and $40 to re-sole. Both are very reasonable rates and are below the competition’s rates for the area. I get both pairs back in five days, and I am very excited and incredibly hopeful. I really hope that I like his craftsmanship and I can stop my search for a good cobbler in this area before my search truly starts. Silly, I know, but I’ve realized that a good tailor and a good cobbler are people to be valued and cherished since both are hard find.

Update on July 7, 2011: I picked up my two pairs of shoes last night and..YAY! I’ve found a great cobbler! He did a superb job on my Tory Burch Reva flats. After replacing the sole and heel and polishing the leather, it’s as if he erased the two years worth of damage I had inflicted on them– and I really didn’t treat them very gently. I don’t think it was a very hard job to put on the half rubber soles so I am mainly just glad that he was willing to do it for a relatively decent price. A part of me wonders if I could get a discount if I bring in a big order for half rubber soles.

§ 2 Responses to Growing up and taking care of my shoes

  • Katherine says:

    I always cobble and take care of my shoes too – it makes them last so much longer! 🙂

  • origamidumpling says:

    I feel a little bad that I didn’t find out about the mystical wonderfulness of cobblers until now. My favorite boots were kind wrecked from winter, and I’m not very gentle with my flats which I treat like Nikes even though they say, “Tory Burch”. I’m desperately trying to do damage control.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Growing up and taking care of my shoes at Origamidumpling.

meta