Good Stuff Eatery

May 23, 2011 § Leave a comment

Since Mitch was visiting, we decided to visit a burger place, Good Stuff Eatery, for Saturday lunch. That decision was an odd one since Mitch prefers Asian food and a burger is as American as a person can get with food. But I felt that I lucked out because I love a good burger that is greasy with the juices dripping down my hand to my arm, cheesy, with strips of bacon and a couple of crispy onion rings thrown in for good measure. Sure, I’ll add in the leaf of lettuce, a slice of tomato, and maybe some freshly cut onions accidentally end up squashed in between, but those are really just for decoration. I want my burger to taste juicy and delicious and a little bit like sin, because if I’m going to be indulgent, that burger shouldn’t taste any where close to lackluster.

Located on Capitol Hill and popularized by word of mouth and the connection to “Top Chef”, Good Stuff Eatery was small and crowded. There were tables and seats located outside for outdoor eating and people watching, but since we were a relatively large group of six, we weren’t able to find seats outside. We were able to find seats on the second floor which overlooked the line of people placing orders at the cash register. I ordered the Colletti’s Smokehouse which includes applewood bacon, sharp cheddar, fried onion rings, and Chipotle barbecue sauce while Wayne ordered the Spike’s Sunnyside which includes applewood bacon, cheese, a fried, runny egg, and Good Stuff sauce. We also ordered the Handcut fries that was seasoned with sea salt, which I thought paled in comparison to the Village fries because the addition of rosemary and thyme add more flavor and fragrance. I did love the large variety of dipping sauces that were provided through self-serve pumps, with some examples being Old Bay mayo, Sriracha mayo, Chipotle barbecue sauce. And then there is ketchup for the nostalgic.

While we were waiting, two of Wayne’s friends bought shakes and I was able to try the Toasted Marshmallow shake, which tasted like the essence of the s’more without the unnecessary graham crackers because the grainy-ness of the crumbs would have ruined the super creamy sweet goodness.  I was tempted to buy one for myself but was worried that I wouldn’t be able to finish it along with my burger. Luckily, the shake was a little too sweet and too creamy for Wayne’s friend who was completely full after eating his burger and fries so I was able to finish the rest of the shake. Yes, I am a greedy, greedy girl.

When our food finally came out, I was starving and made a grab for the first wrapped burger that looked like it contained bacon– oh bacon, you are crucial to me; what is a burger without you? The burger is smaller than the typical burger served at bars and other burger restaurants but I personally prefer the smaller size. The beef patty was tasty and the burger was all-around delicious and incredibly messy. It was an interesting modge podge of textures because the bacon was chewy, the lettuce and tomato were fresh and crisp, and to tie the textures together was the creamy egg with the broken runny yolk.

Whoops.

I had stolen my boyfriend’s burger. And it was delicious. And, to be honest, I didn’t feel all that guilty because that burger was divine. Okay, I felt a little guilty so I gave him back his burger. Not that he was complaining that much because by the time we realized we were eating the wrong burgers, we were both about half way done. The only thing that tipped us off was that I kept complaining how messy the burger was and why was it dripping yellow? Stuck eating my own Colletti’s Smokehouse burger, I realized that regardless of how much I love fried onion rings, there was no comparison to the creaminess of the egg that really tied Wayne’s Spike’s Sunnyside burger together into a solid, tasty burger. Mine felt lacking in comparison even though it was a really good burger as well; I just wanted more egg. I would have loved my Colletti’s Smokehouse if I hadn’t eaten Wayne’s Spike’s Sunnyside first.

Good Stuff Eatery
303 Pennsylvania Ave SE
(between S 3rd St & S 4th St)
Washington, DC 20003
(202) 543-8222

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Good Stuff Eatery at Origamidumpling.

meta