The Corporate Ballerina

May 14, 2011 § Leave a comment

Blazer: Zara, Top: JCrew, Skirt: BB Dakota, Tights: Uniqlo, Shoes: Seychelles
Jewelry: Earrings: Anthropologie, Necklace: JCrew, Ring: Tiffany&Co

There are some days when I walk into my closet and want to only wear my favorite pieces, regardless of how much they match each other and play nicely. I figure there is beauty in their confusion of having to lay and drape next to each other and the chaos from textures fighting fisticuffs. Sometimes I walk out of my closet looking quite sharp. Other times, I walk out of my closet looking like my inner five year old was really determined to look like a pretty, pretty princess and won the battle with her temper tantrum. But either way, I don’t walk back into my closet to change.

I love my tulle skirt. It doesn’t really match with anything in my closet, which means to me that it should match with everything. I used to be a bit of a tomboy when I was growing up. I didn’t want to take ballet lessons; I wanted to learn karate and become a Power Ranger. Interestingly, now I adore lace, tulle, bows, and pearls, and pretty much anything extraordinarily girly. However, I lack any sort of grace (or balance) to have ever become a ballerina so I guess it was good that I didn’t pursue it as a child and become horribly disappointed when I eventually discovered that I have no rhythm and I fall down when standing in place. Instead, I bought this tulle skirt. This lovely, ethereal tulle skirt that has a beautiful sparkle when the light hits at the right angle and reminds me of the skirt on Degas’ little ballerina statue, The Little Fourteen-Year-Old Dancer, is my compromise.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading The Corporate Ballerina at Origamidumpling.

meta