Honey Pig Korean Barbecue in Annandale

April 29, 2011 § Leave a comment

There are a few magical words that make Wayne’s eyes light up with excitement whenever I say them.

One of them is “Honeypig”.

It’s the name of our local Korean barbecue restaurant, Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean Grill, that –I think– is open 24/7 and seems to always feature sales on their different cuts of meat that have been marinated with various seasonings like gochujang, Korean pears, soy sauce, onions and garlic, garlic, garlic. The meat is cooked on a circular grill by the sweet and friendly staff while patrons sit at the table and stare hungrily with their mouths watering. It doesn’t seem to matter whether or not I’m hungry before I arrive because I become hungry when I look at the menu and then I am starving when I see the strips of marinated spicy pork belly come out and are laid across the grill. I suddenly feel like I haven’t eaten in days. The sad thing is that my love for Korean barbecue is minuscule compared to Wayne’s friends. He has one friend who loves Korean barbecue so much that he would easily eat at Honey Pig every meal if possible, and he has actually gone there by himself just to eat platters of spicy pork belly and bulgogi. It’s a bit unusual because usually people go to Honey Pig in groups.

I love this place for the food, but I return because I always get friendly, sweet service. The ladies who take our orders and cook the meat are kind, especially to my mom, and incredibly efficient. The restaurant is well-ventilated but I always walk out smelling of marinated meats in my clothes, which I personally don’t mind. The lingering smell does bother Wayne so he leaves his clothes hanging outside the closet for the smell to leave. Being one of the few places around here that focuses on Korean barbecue, the restaurant becomes extremely crowded on Fridays and Saturdays for the dinner hours and after late-night drinking hours. The first time I came here, it was during February and my group had to wait two hours outside. We had enough time for me to go grocery shopping and come back to continue waiting. The waiting for two hours nonsense was bizarre to me after living in LA with a $16 all-you-can-eat Korean Barbecue restaurants on practically every street corner.

Honey Pig Gooldaegee Korean Grill
7220 Columbia Pike
Ste C
Annandale, VA 22003
(703) 256-5229

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Honey Pig Korean Barbecue in Annandale at Origamidumpling.

meta