Hello, Learning Curve

April 24, 2011 § Leave a comment

Through the Canon Loyalty Program*, I was able to get a new toy for a fraction of the cost, Canon EOS Rebel T2i for $511 plus tax, free shipping. Sure, it’s refurbished, but I was willing to buy a used one off of Craigslist from a random seller; at least this way, I have a 90-day warranty to figure out if there are any issues that need to be address. And, actually, the price I was able to buy the refurbished T2i was much less than the prices on Craigslist. It’s so new and has so many more buttons than my Nikon FM10 and Wayne’s Sony Cyber-shot DSC-T90 (which I’ve pretty much claimed as my own because he prefers the convenience of his iPhone camera) that I’m a little bit overwhelmed. I carry the little manual around with me and am determined to learn all the photographic functionalities (I’m apathetic to the video capabilities right now; I wanted the video option for when Wayne and I finally bring home our Shiba Inu puppy…next year– I like to plan ahead), but there’s a good amount of fumbling.

Unfortunately, the only way I learn is to make a lot of mistakes, which means that I have a lot of overexposed images from the aperture being too open– let’s just say that I lived by the little green light in my FM10– and images with the focus on the wrong objects because I kept playing around with the focal points. I know how to correct these issues for the future (for one, I have to learn to fight my urge to set the lens to the lowest fstop and gleefully screaming, “Let there be light (…and shallow depth of field)!”), but it seems that I needed to stumble and trip into my mistakes to figure out how to do things correctly. On the bright side, I do like my compositions. That’s something, right?

Here’s the only picture that I like from the photos I took today:

 

 

*Canon allows people to trade-in their broken point-and-shoot Powershot cameras for a discount on a refurbished camera; people are allowed to choose another point-and-shoot or a digital slr. The price of the T2i with the kit lens is $511 plus tax, but there is free Fedex 2-day shipping. I used this website for the information I needed: Canon Loyalty Program

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Hello, Learning Curve at Origamidumpling.

meta