Internal exchange of goods and services

April 22, 2011 § Leave a comment

The bribes I use to convince myself to get out of bed and get ready for the day have changed a lot over the years, but not so much for the better or worse, more so…sideways and basic.

In high school, I would bribe myself with the promise that if I get out of bed and go to school, I could come back and take a nap when I came home. It’s not the most juicy bribe, and it was almost just stating a fact more than a bribe, but at 6 AM, it seemed to make a lot of sense.

In college, I would bribe myself with the promise that I could watch an episode of Pushing Daisies/Burn Notice/Scrubs/Doctor Who/Coupling/Friends/Monk/Firefly (this could go on for a while) when I came back from class. I was obsessed with watching my television shows; I used to countdown to when I had to go to class in terms of how many minutes of a show I could watch.

In the working world, I bribe myself with the promise of a cup of oatmeal with brown sugar sprinkled on top for breakfast. Or if I’m having a really hard time getting out of bed, I’ll change the oatmeal to an everything bagel and throw in a piece of chocolate to literally sweeten the deal.

I don’t know what to say. Apparently, I’m very easily bribed with the most menial things. There was a supermodel, Linda Evangelista, back in the 1990’s who famously said,”I won’t get out of bed for less than $10,000 a day”. I’ll get out of bed for a cup of warm oatmeal with brown sugar. And I’ll rush out of bed for an everything bagel. Maybe I should raise my standards?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Internal exchange of goods and services at Origamidumpling.

meta