Home is the smell of freshly baked cookies

March 12, 2011 § 2 Comments

Nothing smells quite like home like freshly baked chocolate chip cookies. Unless you’re in Chinese, then nothing smells like home like garlic, sesame oil, and Asian spices. I’m not quite there yet with the Chinese cooking (erm, will I ever be? Do I need to pop out a kid to cook like a Chinese mom?), so I opted for traditional chocolate chip cookies. They were so traditional that I didn’t bother looking up recipes on tastespotting and just used the recipe on the back of the bag. I have no clue why I thought it would make me feel more home-y, but it did. It also made me replay the scene from “Friends” when Monica spent the entire episode trying to figure out Phoebe’s grandmother’s secret chocolate cookie recipe only to realize that it was really just the Tollhouse recipe that is printed on the back of the bag, but I don’t think that’s really related to trying to make my apartment feel more home-y on our apartment anniversary, just that I watched way too many episodes of “Friends” repeatedly throughout college. The only changes I made to the recipe was to halve it because “makes five dozen” is kind of intimidating to read considering there are only two people in this household, and I omitted the nuts because I couldn’t find any. After my first batch, I realized that I needed more butter so I added in an additional stick of butter. The first batch of cookies weren’t flattening out a little as they baked; they were staying the little mounds I had molded them into before placing them in the oven and became really thick balls of cookies.

Welcome home, darlin’. Stay awhile. Want some tea? Don’t wash your dirty underwear in my dishwasher.

§ 2 Responses to Home is the smell of freshly baked cookies

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Home is the smell of freshly baked cookies at Origamidumpling.

meta