A Very Off-balanced White Balance Dinner in DC

March 5, 2011 § Leave a comment

I like when Wayne and I have people over for dinner and when we get out-of-town visitors. However, I especially love when our family visits so I was excited for his sister’s visit.

Meet Christina.

She is younger than Wayne by four years and is studying to save the world in Baltimore. She’s quite the smartie and equally as pretty. She would be one of the reasons why people would think life isn’t fair since she has both brains and beauty except they wouldn’t be able to think negatively of her because she is also very sweet.

Yesterday her train arrived just in time for dinner, except we still hadn’t decided on where to go to dinner. I didn’t prepare dinner because, no matter how hard I try, I can’t recreate the feeling of comfort and home-y-ness in my food like my mom or Wayne’s mom easily can, and we thought that going out to eat would be more fun since DC has many very tasty eateries.

We went to La Tasca in Chinatown for dinner because I was craving squid ink paella and Christina had never tried paella before. It was a last minute decision since  Bodega in Georgetown (my favorite restaurant for dinner in DC, purely because of their squid ink paella) and Jaleo in Penn Quarter were both fully book for the night, we forgot to make reservations. I can’t rank La Tasca because it has a very special place in my heart since Wayne and I had our first date there. Even if the food were horrendous– which it isn’t–, I would love that restaurant if for no other reason than the memories of that first dinner. However, I will say that I prefer the squid ink paella at Bodega because the rice was al dente and chewy whereas the squid ink paella at La Tasca was softer and a tad bit on the mushy side. I still enjoyed it though because I love the taste of squid ink in pastas and rice dishes. I do prefer the sangrias at La Tasca over Bodega and Jaleo. I like that La Tasca’s sangrias are more fruity and sweet and able to mask the alcohol better than the sangrias at Bodega and Jaloeo since I don’t like strong drinks.

Even though we didn’t have the foresight to make reservations for dinner, I did have the foresight to make a reservation at Co Co. Sala, a chocolate lounge, for dessert.  It was Wayne and my first time visiting the lounge in addition to it being Christina’s first time. It had been a place that Wayne and I frequently said we would try out but we never made the effort because we don’t go into DC that often due to laziness, especially after dinner when we typically lose the food coma battle. The lightning was very dark– the few sources of light being the small lanterns at each table and dimmed recess lights above– and the music was very loud, but the decor was chic and elegant.

Of course none of that really matters, because all I care about are the desserts. And the desserts were divine and so decadent. The portions are very small, which I thought were perfectly sized since some of the desserts were so rich that if they were a larger size, the richness would be overwhelming. However, the assessment could have just been for my plate of dessert, “Chocolate Onyx”, which consisted of three desserts: a brownie that held vanilla crème brûlée that was encased in dark chocolate mousse with a pool salted caramel as the topping, a chocolate sorbet, and a small cinnamon toffee bon bon. Just reading the description of the Chocolate Onyx plate makes me thirsty. But it was so very good.

Christina picked the “Raspberry Affair” dessert plate, which consisted of a white chocolate and raspberry mousse atop a pile of crispy chocolate pearls, a pomegranate and champagne sorbet (that Wayne loved), and a small chocolate that contained goji berries. Her dessert plate was just sweet enough, delightfully fruity, and very refreshing– especially a couple of bites of my dessert plate.

I thought the chocolate lounge was fun to try, and I would love to return for our next special occasion.

 

 

La Tasca in DC Chinatown
722 7th St NW
(between N G St & N H St)
Washington, DC 20001
(202) 347-9190

Co Col. Sala
929 F St NW
(between N 9th St & N 10th St)
Washington, DC 20004
(202) 347-4265

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A Very Off-balanced White Balance Dinner in DC at Origamidumpling.

meta