Cutting Edge Salon

February 18, 2011 § Leave a comment

Wayne and I are in New York City with one of his friends, Jeff, this weekend. I wish I could say that we are so much more cultured and classy than we really are and instead say that we are in the city to do a little cultural sight-seeing, visit the Met, and see a show. And the sad thing is that those excuses aren’t really cultured or classy but are actually just basic tourist-y plans. No, this is a shopping trip. It’s superficial and materialistic, and I think we’re all cool with that– okay, well, Jeff will be shooting with his dslr so maybe his artistic endeavours will sortofkindofnotreally attempt to balance out our gluttonous motives for this trip. This is what happens when NYC is regarded as America’s shopping Mecca. Well, this is primarily a shopping trip for the boys so that they can visit their basketball shoe Mecca (Flight Club New York)and get their hands on some rare Air Jordans and SB Dunks. This is a hair style upkeep trip for me since I dyed my hair back in October because I wanted to keep a little bit of summer with me as the months became colder by dying my hair to the shade of light brown my hair turns to when standing in the sun. I enjoyed the new hair color so much that I want to maintain it. Unfortunately I had such a good experience with the salon, Cutting Hair Salon, and the stylist, Kenneth, back in October that now I only trust him so that means making a trip to New York City every couple of months to dye my roots and get a trim. Suddenly I’ve been become the ridiculous girl who will travel hours and through four states for her hair. And I honestly didn’t see this happening. I thought I would only travel for food. I used to never even consider traveling a couple of miles away for a hair cut during college because there was a cheap salon close by and they did a surprisingly decent job, in retrospect.

During college I frequently had my hair cut at Super Cuts because it was across the street from campus and next door to my favorite sandwich shop, and it was cheap. My hair style has barely changed my entire life. Occasionally I might opt for side bangs on whim while sitting in the chair, which I always regret and tell myself that I should not have bangs– I tend to have amnesia when I sit in the chair and forget all the mental notes I made for my hair previously. But, honestly, how hard is it for a stylist to mess up a request to keep the length and just clean up the layers? At least that’s what I thought until I moved back home last year. So, dear hair salon across the street from my mom’s place in Mclean, Virginia– a town I feel is a bit more upscale than the ghetto part of LA because, well, one, it is not located in the ghetto part of LA, and, two, it is actually located in the second richest county in the country, so therefore I thought that the quality of service wouldn’t be worse than the Super Cuts that is located in the ghetto part of LA–, please tell me how you manage to stay in business despite your interpretation of “Please keep the length and clean up the layers” as “Please slice off five to seven inches, throw in some choppy layers, and, yes, yes, please give me awkward bangs.” I’m still a little traumatized.

Back in September, I did a good amount of research on Yelp to find a salon that would fit the qualifications I wanted my ideal salon to have: Asian (I wanted the salon to know how to handle thick, fine Asian hair), high ratings with a lot of reviews, relatively inexpensive (I don’t believe in paying $300 for a cut and color, or even $200 actually; I refuse to believe that a quality cut means paying a lot of money), a little on the ghetto side just for kicks (Hi, have you not met me?). I decided on Cutting Edge Salon because the stylists are Chinese but the salon has a good mix of Asian and non-Asian patrons (60% to 40%, respectively) so I felt like I would get a stylist who knew how to cut Asian hair but I wouldn’t be at risk of walking out with a really fobby hair cut (think: lots and lots of layers on top and the hair reduces in mass until it is just a few whispery locks of hair two feet below the ears, around the small of the back). I liked that a cut and color is $78 before tip and no tax, and I loved that the reviews were high and positive for the quality of the cut and color. Unfortunately, this place looked a lot nicer than I had imagined, with it’s spacious, white modern decor. But I know that actually works in my favor and I’m just being silly. I really liked how meticulous my stylist, Kenneth, was when he was cutting my hair, and, not only that, he explained the reason behind every snip or cut he made to my strands. He was so courteous and kind, greeting me with a gentle smile and putting me instantly at ease. He was incredibly helpful with deciding what I wanted to do with my hair since I had only a vague idea of what I wanted to accomplish.

I know that it is really easy to point out that the cost of transportation and sometimes hotel would easily negate the inexpensive price for a cut and color from Cutting Edge Salon, but the thing is that Wayne and I frequently visit his parents who live half an hour outside the city so it is actually pretty convenient and I don’t factor the cost of transportation and stay into the cost of the cut and color since I just work in an appointment when it is convenient. I won’t plan a trip around my hair appointment. However, I will (and did) plan a trip around a restaurant.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Cutting Edge Salon at Origamidumpling.

meta