Crack, also known as Girl Scout cookies

February 10, 2011 § Leave a comment

Dear Kate Moss, you are gorgeous, rail-thin skinny, and very, very wrong. Girl scout cookies taste much, much better than skinny feels. Love, hearts, & kisses, kisses, kisses from Jenny

When I was in 1st grade, I really desperately wanted to be in the Brownies. It wasn’t because I thought the badges were cool (which I still think they are, by the way), the fun events my friends in Brownies went on, or, even during an age when fitting in feels crucial to being liked and popular, it seemed all the girls were wearing matching Brownies sashes and uniforms; it was because of the cookies. But then I realized that I didn’t need to join, I could just buy the cookies; I completely gave up on the idea of being a Brownie as I munched on boxes of Samoas and Thin Mints while watching Star Trek: The Next Generation after school instead of attending Brownie meetings.

Luckily for me, this week my dealer local girl scouts mom finally announced that the cookies were in and ready for pick up! HELLO gooey, messy, coconut-y Samoas! You are my obvious favorite; I love your contrasting textures of the super buttery tender shortbread with a crisp bite and a smothering of gooey, chewy caramel and  crunchy flakes of toasted coconut!

This is only two-thirds of what I received since the other box of Tagalongs and two boxes of Dulce de Leche are at the office.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Crack, also known as Girl Scout cookies at Origamidumpling.

meta